Newark City Council

The Newark City Council is composed of five Council Members. Four of the Council Members are elected to staggered four-year terms; the Mayor who also serves as the fifth Council Member is elected to serve a two-year term. There is an election in November of even numbered years for the Mayor’s seat and two Council Member seats.

The Mayor presides over the City Council meetings, which are held on the second and fourth Thursday of each month. City Council meetings begin at 7:30 p.m. in the City Council Chamber, 37101 Newark Boulevard. Live meetings are televised on local Cable Channel 26.  Meetings are streamed live, click here. For agendas and minutes click here.

The City Council Members are elected officers identified in Government Code Section 87200 and file statements of economic interests with the City Clerk's office.  Copies of the statements of economic interests filed by the elected officers may be obtained by visiting the offices of the Fair Political Practices Commission (FPPC) or the City Clerk.  The physical address of the FPPC is 428 J Street, Suite 620, Sacramento, California 95814. The physical address of the City Clerk's office is 37101 Newark Boulevard, Newark, California 94560. The statements of economic interests for some state and local government agency elected officers may be available in electronic format on the FPPC's website at

For more information, please contact the City Clerk at 510-578-4266 or via email at